If you are worried about someone knowing that you have visited a website for advice there are a few different ways to remove this from your browser history and generally stay safe online.
All leading web browsers have a 'private browsing' mode that, once enabled, saves nothing about your activity on your computer in that browsing window.
- Internet Explorer: go to ‘Safety’ – ‘Tools’ – ‘InPrivate Browsing’
- Firefox: click the menu button (three horizontal lines) and select ‘New private window’
- Chrome: click the menu button (three horizontal lines) and select ‘New incognito window’
The following videos give advice on private browsing on a mobile device:
Deleting your browsing history
Internet browsers normally keep a record of all the web pages you visit. To delete your browsing history, if you haven't used a private browsing mode, hold down the CTRL key and press the H key. Find the pages you want to delete, right click and choose ‘Delete’. If you delete the whole history, it could look suspicious so try to go onto other websites that your partner wouldn’t get angry about.
There are a few different things to remember when using email:
- If your partner has been threatening or abusive over email, you can print the messages and save them as evidence of the abuse.
- If you start to send an email but don’t finish it, your phone or computer is likely to save it as a drafts. If you are emailing a support agency for example, make sure you delete it from your drafts if you decide not to send.
- If you do send an email, it will be in your ‘sent items’ folder. You can also delete what’s in there.
- When you delete an email, it will get moved into a ‘deleted items’ folder. You can delete them permanently from this folder.
All the above advice may not completely hide your tracks. Some browsers have features that display recently visited sites. If you are unsure, try to use a computer that your abuser has no access to, such as at a library, friend’s house or work.
Try to keep your passwords private on your phone, computer and emails so that no one can access them but you. If you do log into something, remember to log out when you have finished.